Search form

University of Virginia UVA Arts & Sciences Default

Promotion and Tenure Committee

9 (+1) Members (2016-17)

The Promotion and Tenure Committee reviews the cases of faculty who are being considered for promotion to associate professor with tenure or full professor. The committee members consider each case as presented by the faculty member's home department and make a recommendation to the dean of Arts & Sciences about whether or not to grant promotion or tenure. The Dean and three academic Associate Deans serve on the committee ex officio.


Regular Committee:

Lawrie Balfour, Politics

John McLaren, Economics

Xiaoyuan Liu, History

John Dillery, Classics

John Lyons, French

Antonia Lolordo, Philosophy

Jill Venton, Chemistry

Bethany Teachman, Psychology

Craig Sarazin, Astronomy

Emily Scida, Spanish, Italian & Portuguese (for non-tenure-track cases only)

Expedited Committee:

Kevin Lehmann, Chemistry

Susan Fraiman, English

Sid Milkis, Politics