Search form

University of Virginia UVA Arts & Sciences Default

New A&S Chairs and Directors Named

Aug 23, 2018

In addition to new associate deans Brie Gertler (Arts & Humanities, interim), and Christian McMillen (Social Sciences), nine new academic department chairs and five new program directors are beginning their terms this fall.  See below.

For a complete listing of academic associate deans, go to; for academic and program chairs, visit, and for directors of centers and institutes, see

Sylvia Chong, Interim Director

Adria LaViolette, Interim Director

Carmenita “Carmen” Higginbotham, Chair

Craig Sarazin, Chair

Lisa Russ Spaar, Director

Richard Will, Chair

Eli Carter, Interim Director

John Imbrie, Chair

Camilla Fojas, Interim Chair

Nizar Hermes, Chair

Ted Coffey, Interim Chair

Caroline Janney, Director

Antonia LoLordo, Interim Chair

Robert “Bob” Jones, Chair