Search form

University of Virginia UVA Arts & Sciences Default

Seven Arts Fellows Selected

Apr 21, 2017 |

After reviewing a school-wide call for proposals, the Arts Fellows Program has selected its second cohort of Arts & Sciences faculty to pursue creative and scholarly work while developing arts courses that expand interdisciplinary initiatives in the arts.

  • Ted Coffey (Music)
  • David Dalton (Drama)
  • I-Jen Fang (Music)
  • Lydia Moyer (Art)
  • Debra Nystrom (Creative Writing)
  • Christa Robbins (Art)
  • Katelyn Hale Wood (Drama)

Each fellowship comes with $10,000 in summer wages to support research, creative work and course development. In addition to working on individual creative and scholarly projects, Arts Fellows are expected to meet regularly as a group. Among the expected outcomes of the program is the design of new courses that will contribute to the integration of the arts across the curriculum and the creation of a major art initiative. The inaugural class of Arts Fellows included Tom Bloom (Drama), Luke Dahl (Music), Carmen Higginbotham (Art History, American Studies), Kim Brooks Mata (Dance), David Sariti (Music), Lisa Spaar (Creative Writing) and William Wylie (Studio Art).

The third class of arts fellows will be selected in the spring of 2018. The fellowships are open to both tenure-track and non-tenure-track faculty. For more information about proposal requirements, application deadlines and other details about the Arts Fellows program, contact Emily Daniel (